NEUS Projects

Full Version: Black Knight Checkmate and Sudden Death/Zugwang
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Checkmate should not have a 3 turn cool down or any at all. Maybe I'm not experienced enough, however plenty of other classes have skills that can do just as much as checkmate (if not more) with zero cool down. The only, maybe, pro that checkmate has other moves is the fact that it applies on-hit affects which I'm not sure warrants a 3 turn cool down.

Sudden Death and Zugwang is another weird thing. I'm thinking we should combine them instead of having them as different moves, by that I mean keep the dealing less damage triggers an effect and the effect would be +5 power and +15 hit, maybe adding in that if they're already feared then you get the bonus without needing it triggered. The reasoning for this is basically it feels like an odd combo. You don't exactly when enemies feared (at least not me) when you want them to hit so that you can proc Prophylaxis. Personally my hit isn't that great so dodgy enemies require auto-hits or Prophylaxis, but if they're feared and miss me, I'll miss them right back. Seems odd to me.

All just a thought though and I'm not that experienced in the game.
Checkmate should probably have something extra attached to it to justify the 3 turn CD, like Knockdown if you're using Heavy Armor, and maybe a long-term Interference (7 rounds at max rank) if done when the enemy is below a certain health threshold, to give the feel of 'You won't be getting back after that, boy'.

The Sudden Death and Zugzwang is so Black Knight has things to spend points on, to be honest. They don't have a lot of interesting skills, aside the offensive ones. The defensive ones are only bad because the enemy can simply re-inflict you with whatever status effect you cleansed, which is dumb, because you need to be using momentum that you can't spare all the time.