Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Bad Materials, Worse Upgrades
Hey, it's Latto, your local veteran robot building, item chucking dumb ass (I was the one that suggested the original Good Materials B') ). I was excited about the Engineer revamp but after playing it (I'm a Destiny Engineer right now) let's just say they are still pretty... bad. There are several glaring problems:

Many of their skills do next to nothing for the skill points invested:
Arrow Robots only get 2 stat points per level.
This is... okay... albeit bland and also practically useless for Medibot.

Arrow Repair and Bashfix get lowered FP costs.
Bashfix gets 10 FP reduced. Repair gets 2 FP reduced per skillpoint which is simply atrocious since it does absolutely nothing else for the point investment.

Arrow Upgrade skills get duration increases.
While this is okay for Flamethrower/Grenade Launcher, Jetpack and Electro shield both have 3 turn cooldowns after using their active abilities. This essentially makes the duration increase AWFUL since you would need at least 3 skill points to grant someone a second usage of their active abilities (also since Electro shield's shield effect duration is based on the actual skill's level and not the upgrade level it makes it even less efficient to put points into the upgrade skill.)

Arrow Gun skills (and as a result, their upgrade skills,) are mediocre.
Flamethrower and Grenade Launcher are just... meh. If you have a gun equipped you don't get access to bashfix and vice versa. Their scalings are average and unfavorable (being based off of fire attack means you need strength... which guns don't scale off of.) Grenade launcher needs to be a high rank to be of any sort of significant use and explosive art's damage bonus doesn't work on its upgrade skill (meaning your 6 momentum robot will be sacrificing a move or attack to deal a whopping 20 damage.)

Costs to Reward Value

Let's face it: Engineers use a lot of time and resources to not do much at all.