Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Blogpost on Paladins
Paladins or: How I Learned to Stop Needling and Love the Sword

[Image: rUE8isc.jpg]

While you were doing drugs, I studied the blade. While you were engaged in premarital sex, I practiced the blade. While you spent your months at the gym, I used the blade. Now that the demons are here you're all unprepared. Except for me.

For I studied the blade.

THE INTRODUCTION:

I'll try to keep this as short and organized as I may.

Now, for the real meat of the thread. Introductions and transparency are first; I've recently made a new character with a BK/Priest build. My intent with the build was, as I was pointed to, make a Mercalan paladin since the class combo is ideal for it. And while it sounds like it's completely feasible, the truth of the matter is that it is not. BK/Priest is not a holy soldier charging up his foes and striking true with a Mercalan holy blade. It's not about hurling light arrows about and warping to people with Hanging to slice at them while looking all badass and pure. A BK/Priest is nothing but a priest with armor hurling Holy Arrow/Needle/Holy Spark/Shine Ray over and over while standing completely still in their Sanctuary and Divine Showering you if you run away. And if you're that unlucky, Malmelo to rub it in.

The reason I was told BK/Priest was a horrible combo to deal with was not because it's a good combo, but because it's just about standing still, hurling the same 4 moves over and over with sheer DR/healing until you die. That is what I've found thus far from experience.

My aim with this thread is bring some awareness at the very least to how awfully streamlined BK/Priest is, and at the very most point out how painful it is to stat a tank basic hitter. I don't expect to get much achieved by posting this thread, but I want to hear everyone's opinions and hopefully throw a Hail Mary for a class combo that could really be fun to play.